Operation Vegan Potluck!

Last night, I attended a organic vegan potluck for the opening of the Joy Clinic’s new home. I was a bit nervous about what to make, seeing as I am a tried and true lover of all things meat and dairy. In the end, I found this incredible recipe for Vegan Gluten Free Crackers. Perfect! Along with a bruschetta dip the combination was quite “joyful”.

Ingredients List:

  • 2 cups of Almond Flour
  • 1 tsp of coarse sea salt
  • 2 tbsp of Herbes de Provence
  • 1 tbsp and 1/4 cup of Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp of water
  • 1 28oz can of diced tomato’s (drained)
  • half of a red onion chopped
  • 2 gloves of garlic chopped
  • half a cup of fresh basil chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar
  • Sea Salt**** ( this is the secret ingredient in the bruschetta)

**click on the picture for a step by step explanation of How to make Vegan Crackers and Bruschetta Dip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The crackers turned out better than I could have imagined, however the next time that I make them for a potluck I will triple the recipe. Half way through the baking process my kitchen began smelling incredible, I was salivating by the time they were ready and could barely wait until they had cooled. This recipe has just jumped up on my go to list. It is so simple and you will not believe how tasty they are. The bruschetta dip and cracker combo is killer: vegan or not make this for your next potluck, party or snack.

It was my intention to photo blog some of the other dishes but the spirit of the evening was such that I didn’t have the chance to take out my camera, I was so enchanted by the awesome people and I was too busy chatting. But let me tell you, that all of the food was very good and there were some creative dishes in the spread Chocolate Mousse made with Tofu, Dairy Free date squares, an incredible soup that tasted like heaven, the list goes on and on. I also tried an incredible new vodka that I will have to buy and add to my collection.

Tonight, I’m going to Terroni’s for dinner and then going to check out Assassins at the Theatre Centre. This week is busy but I’ve got a few things on my list that I will make and blog; a vegan birthday cake and some homemade pasta. Happy Sunday everyone!

Eat well

Be Happy

Laugh loudly

 

xo Lisa

Thanks for reading. If you have any questions please feel free to email me at foodventuresandotherstories@gmail.com.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Operation Vegan Potluck!”

  1. JMERF says :

    I got to eat some of these tasty little crackers. They really are surprisingly yummy. And the texture is perfect…not to crispy, but not soggy either. They’re soft little flavour granades. Make many or there won’t be any left when your guests arrive.

Leave a Reply

